The Best Class A RV Brands – Who Makes The Best Quality RVs?

The best Class A RV Brands

This article is about the best Class A RV brands or manufacturers.

And more specifically about those that are considered generally to produce the best quality.

A commonly asked question is “If I’m going to buy an RV, which brands should I be considering?” 

It’s a good question. But understand that if I give you an answer, it’s only my opinion. And that’s really all it is. 

So remember, when you get into these kind of subjects, it’s very subjective.

RV articles table of contents

Click here to watch my video on the best Class A RV brands

How I Determined The Best Class A RV Brands

The following opinions I’ll be sharing are based on going through lots and lots of RVs.

I mean I have seen a lot of RVs and I have inspected a lot of RVs. I have also done a lot of research about RV’s too.

And online you can access many RV forums where there’s a lot of great RV information.  

Also, I read a lot of RV reviews too. And I have been able to actually talk with numerous RV owners on my travels.

That’s a rich source of information about RVs as well. In these discussions, I’ve learned how their RV was built. And whether folks are satisfied with them or not.  

So that’s what my opinions are based on. And this whole list that I’m going to present today is basically just my opinion. 

Now you may disagree with it completely. And that’s fine because we all have our opinions. 

But what I’m providing here is just based on my experience.

Now there’s a few things that I want to cover before we actually launch into the list.

That way you can understand what I’m actually doing with the list.  

Best Class A RV Brands – Gassers VS Diesel Pushers

First of all, you’ve got to understand that when we’re comparing Class A motorhomes you have to kind of separate it out between gasoline engine Class A’s and diesel engine Class A’s. They’re really different vehicles.  

The manufacturing  process is different. And what they’re including and what they’re not including is different on each one and so on.  

So I’m going to break them out between gasoline manufacturer brands and diesel manufacturer brands.

Comparing Various RV Price Points

The next thing is that you cannot fairly compare Class A motorhomes that are at a wide range of cost points.  

How To Avoid Buying An RV Money Pit

For instance, suppose you buy a Class A motorhome that’s about $150,000 new. 

Then you can’t honestly compare that with a similar type of Class A that costs three or four times more.  

Why? Well, as you know in life, you generally get what you pay for. And for that extra money, you really should expect to have a higher level of materials used.

And it should have a better fit and finish as well. Also, you also should expect to receive better customer service.  

All these kinds of things are what should go along with spending more money.  

So with that in mind, I am going to separate out the brands by higher end or higher cost brands, mid-range brands, and then lower-cost brands. 

That way we’re making a fair comparison between the manufacturers as to what they’re intending to sell you.

The Best Class A RV Brands Over Ten Years

Now one other point is that things have changed a lot in this industry over the last 10 years. I mean a lot!!!  

So there are some manufacturers that were around 10 years ago that aren’t even in business anymore. 

Also there are others that have changed dramatically over that period of time.  

With some manufacturers, their quality has gone downhill. And with others the quality has actually improved over that time.  

So I’m going to break out the list between motorhomes that were built 10 years ago and those that are being built today. 

That way if you’re a new buyer, you’ll get a nice list of good quality brands and manufacturers for today.

And if you’re buying used, you’ll have something to refer to on companies from years past. And the kind of quality RV that they produced then.

All right, since I’ve laid the groundwork for all that criteria, let’s get into the list itself. 

RV Gear

Best Class A RV Brands – Diesel Pushers 10 years ago

We’re going to start with the diesel pusher section of the Class A motorhome.  

These are the big boys so it’s a good place to start. We’re going to go back 10 years first.

And 10 years ago, what if you were buying a higher end Class A diesel pusher? 

Well, the brands with the best reputations then for quality were Country Coach, Tiffin,  Monaco and Newmar.  

All were very well made units. And if you look at many of those today, they look almost like brand new if they’ve been cared for.

In the mid-range we’re going to give the nod to Winnebago. And Holiday Rambler was also a good rig too. They have a very big fan club and following. 

But here’s one you may not have heard of… Rexall.  That may seem funny to have not heard of them before.

But that’s because they weren’t a big manufacturer. However, they still have a very loyal fan club even to this day.  

And we’re going to include Fleetwood in that mid-range diesel pusher category also.

Let’s now look at the Class A motorhomes from 10 years ago on the lower end. 

And there’s a couple of manufacturers that have a lot of fans. That is Damon and Georgie Boy. 

So if you’re looking for a more economical diesel pusher from 10 years ago, those are good choices.

Best Class A RV Brands – Diesel Pushers Today

Best Class A RV brands - diesel pushers

Now let’s bring it up to today. Well, things have changed a lot in the diesel pusher category today.

What we’ve seen is kind of a skewing of more of the brands toward the higher end.  

They’re leaving that mid-range and lower end sort of open more these days.  

So on the higher end today for diesel pushers, my recommendation would still be Newmar and Tiffin. 

But we could also now include Winnebago. Because Winnebago has been moving their price point up over the last 10 years.  

Also Entegra seems to be a very good brand. With these RV’s, you can feel fairly comfortable that you’re getting a really good quality product.

In the mid-range there’s not really a lot to choose from. But I’m going to give Fleetwood a nice thumbs up here on the low end. And we can also add Forest River in here as well.

All right now, let’s move from diesel pushers to gassers or gasoline engines.  

Watch my RV videos now

Best Gasser RVs from 10 years ago

Going back again 10 years ago to start with. And on the higher end of gasoline-powered Class A’s.

Here we can give the nod to Tiffin, Newmar, Holiday Rambler and Monaco. These are all very good coaches in this category.  

In the mid range category, Winnebago. And once again Rexall comes in here too. 

Also, I’m going to add another one that you may not have heard much about, Triple E. Their coaches were built well and they have a very loyal following.

What about the lower end for gasoline-powered Class A motor homes from 10 years ago?

Well, here we are going to give the nod to Georgie Boy and Damon.

Now let’s bring everything up to today. And what do we find today in the gasoline section of this category?  

Best Class A Brands – Gassers Today

Looking at the higher priced models, Newmar and Tiffin still are building a very good Class A gasser. 

And we are now going to include Winnebago again. Because Winnebago’s been moving that price point up over the last ten years.

In the mid-range, we are going to include Fleetwood and Entegra in that category.

And on the lower price point end, we’ll give a nod toward Thor and Jayco.

Now these are my opinions about the quality that each one of these manufacturers is producing.  

What If You Disagree With My List?

But now let me say a few things here in regards to this list that I’ve laid out. 

As I went through that list, you might have disagreed with a lot of it.  

In fact, maybe you got a lemon of an RV from one of these manufacturers that I just recommended. 

Just let me remind you that lemons can be had from almost any brand in the RV industry.   

All I’m giving you with this list is a list of manufacturers that are generally well received.

And it’s agreed upon by many that over time, they produce a quality product.  

So don’t be angry if you got a product that wasn’t really what you would expect from one of these manufacturers. It can happen in any brand.

Should You Only Buy RV Brands On My List?

Also, I want to mention here that this does not mean that you should only buy a Class A that’s on my list.   

And it doesn’t mean that you can’t consider ones that aren’t on my list.  

This is just helpful information that I’m providing for you. It’s just what many people agree is the best quality manufacturers for Class A RVs.   That’s all it really is.

A Word About Class A Gassers From 10+ Years Ago

Now what if the RV you’re considering is more than 10 years old? 

Well then, actually the priority shifts in this case. More from the quality of the brand to the quality of the maintenance that’s been performed.

In other words, how did the RV owners care for the RV during that period of time?   

Yes, in the early life of an RV, the brand makes a lot of difference. But as time goes by, it’s not so much about the brand itself.  

I mean it’s always a consideration. But a more important question becomes what that owner did with the RV to keep it in good condition? So please bear that in mind.

The Best Class A RV Brands Overall

Finally, did you notice that in the brands list there were three manufacturers whose names kept coming up repeatedly?  

I’m sure you caught it. Yes, that is Newmar, Tiffin, and Winnebago.  

And there is a reason for that. Suppose you pressed me for the best brands in the Class A RV industry.

Then I would probably say that I feel that these three manufacturers, consistently produce a higher quality product. More so than most other brands. 

Conclusion

So suppose you choose to buy an RV from one of these brands that’s on my list?

Well then, you’re just simply putting the odds more in your favor for getting a high quality RV.  

And that doesn’t mean that you can’t get a great RV from another manufacturer.

But you’re going with the flow, when you jump in there and purchase from the good quality manufacturers.

RV podcast

Well, I hope what I’ve covered here today has been helpful.

I hope it will give you something to think about the next time that you consider buying a Class A RV.

Have safe and happy travels my friends… until next time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *